Rejection Letters (dot) Net


U Chicago Law School: Super Douchey
April 1, 2008, 11:41 pm
Filed under: Law School, Schools | Tags: , , , ,

It seems that law students and law students-to-be are the most spiteful of our early contributors. Over the next couple of weeks (time permitting) we’ll be posting some of the plethora of law school and law firm rejections. To begin, here’s one from the University of Chicago. An esteemed school with a Top 10 US News ranking; so esteemed, in fact, that applicants may have a hard time coping with rejection.
Actual text from the letter:

Although there is no way for me to lessen the disappointment, I would like to point out that the Committee’s decisions have been difficult.

Seriously? Two things piss us off here. First, although we’re sure the applicant in question was crying their eyes out when they received this rejection (though there are no tears on the scanned letter to indicate as such), the “lessen the disappointment” language goes too far, even for the hoity–toity law school types. Second, right after noting how difficult it will be for this applicant, U Chicago brings it back to it. I’m super sorry this is hard for you but it’s way harder for us. Pity us, this ivory tower has a lot of steps and such. Third (yes, we’re allowed to name three things even though we said two), if you look at the letter it was sent on 14 February. Valentines Day.
The full letter after the jump.
As promised (click to see the full-size image):
University of Chicago Law School

And now for the point breakdown.

  • Objective Points: +1 (letterhead) -1/5*(3 “sorry” “unfortunately” “) + 1 (“thank you”) = +1.4
  • Discretionary Points: -4 (condescending tone) -2 (self-promotion) = -6
  • Total: -4.6

So, not a bad showing for the #7 law school in the nation. I hope you can deal with the disappointment of a -4.6, University of Chicago, just know that it was harder for us than it was for you. It’s not you, it’s me.


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[...] U Chicago Law School: Super Douchey [...]

Pingback by McDermott Will & Emery: Love That Effort « Rejection Letters (dot) Net

What’s up, its good post about media print, we all understand media is a wonderful source of information.

Comment by Pit-37

You are so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read anything like this before.

So wonderful to find another person with some unique thoughts on this issue.

Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is
something that is needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

Comment by PIT 2012

What’s up to all, it’s truly a pleasant for me to visit this site, it includes precious Information.

Comment by rozliczenie pit przez internet

After looking over a few of the blog posts on your site, I really appreciate
your way of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list and
will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too and tell me what you think.

Comment by http://www.pcipedia.es/index.php/Edeklaracje

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return the favor”.
I’m trying to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Comment by program do pitów

Every weekend i used to visit this website, because i wish for enjoyment,
for the reason that this this website conations actually good funny information too.

Comment by rozliczenie pit 2014 online

Hi, I think your web site might be having browser compatibility problems.
When I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however,
if opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues.
I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Apart from that, wonderful blog!

Comment by yeast infection treatment nz

Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it
helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

Comment by Lamar

Amazing YouTube movies posted at this website, I am going to subscribe for daily updates, as I dont want to fail to take this series. cafdkecbgcge

Comment by Johng355




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

